My dress for Miss Crayola Creepy’s Crazy Cat Lady sewing challenge is almost finished. The side seams are basted, so I just need to do a final fitting and then hem it. I’ll have it finished tonight but then it will be too dark to model it. So my dress form is wearing it so I could get a photo of it up in the Flickr group before the deadline.

Atomic Cats dress 1Here’s a close up of the kitschy kitty detail on the bodice where the loop goes around the center gathers.

Atomic Cats dress 2

I used New Look 6935 although I wanted to use my vintage pattern.

New Look 6935

New Look 6935

Unfortunately I didn’t pay attention to the fabric requirements even though I did get what was listed on the envelope. Turns out it was for fabric without nap or a one-way directional print. Mail Order 4543I had my fabric laid out on the cutting table and when I looked at the cutting layout diagram I uttered a very bad word. The dress pieces are flip-flopped around to utilize every inch of the fabric.Mail Order 4543 fabric layoutAnd my “Atomic Tabby’s” print from Michael Miller has a definite one-way direction.Atomic TabbysChalk up another sewing lesson – pay attention to ALL the information AND take a quick look the cutting layout BEFORE buying the fabric. Isn’t that along the lines of “measure twice, cut once”? Lesson learned.

