I didn’t get to the Marian Martin dress for the Sew For Victory challenge. I only had the time to sew Hollywood Pattern 789 (photos coming soon). So now I’m getting another opportunity to use Marian Martin 9247 for the Vintage Challenge on Pattern Review.

Marian Martin 9247I like the detail of the small, curved gathers on the sleeves near the elbows. My test muslin is done and only needed some minor adjustments to the fit. I will be changing the back center seam to a zipper in place of the short keyhole opening and the snaps in the side seam. I don’t like struggling to put on a dress and the buttoned-keyhole/side-snaps combo makes me have to contort uncomfortably. Plus I really don’t like the appearance of side seam snaps. They look all lumpy bumpy on the side and don’t have the look of a clean finish.

Marian Martin 9247a

There aren’t shoulder seams at the top of the shoulders. Instead the back bodice extends up and over the shoulders to the front to meet the gathers on the front bodice.Marian Martin 9247bI love this sleeve detail at the elbows.Marian Martin 9247cWell I’m off to cut out this great vintage rayon challis I got from Sharon’s Antiques.

Vintage Rayon birds

 

 

 

