The lovely Rochelle of Lucky Lucille has announced another Sew For Victory Sew-Along. I missed the one from last year, so I’m very glad to be able to jump on board this one. What to sew? Hmmm. Probably a dress, and if so, probably a pattern with princess seams. I have a few in my pattern collection plus the slip pattern I was looking at in an earlier post:

sew4victory2

I’m thinking princess seams because I am still on Weight Watchers and I’ve lost 12lbs (5.5kg) so far and have another 12lbs more to go to reach my goal weight. Princess seams are easier to take in as there are more seams to spread the difference over.

I’m always “window shopping” fabric on the internet. Sharon’s Antiques has some pretty cottons from the 1930-1940s over on her site:

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 8.56.08 PM Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 8.56.31 PMBut I’ll be good and go look in my own stash for fabric. I do have some mighty nice vintage rayons and contemporary rayon prints that have the vintage vibe. Yay! It’s so much fun to plan a new project.

Here’s something silly I participated in recently. The local library has a yearly fundraiser called “Dancing with Our Stars”, a riff on “Dancing with The Stars” tv show, where local ballroom dance teachers are paired with a notable person from the community and performs a number in the show. I am one of the “chorus girls” (in red) in this dance rendition of “Honey Bun” from “South Pacific”, a musical set in WWII. Our notable person is the local chief of police as the “hula girl”. It’s a laugh.

