I will like the year of the Radiant Orchid, Pantone’s color of the year for 2014.  Pantone says Radiant Orchid is “an invitation to innovation” and “encourages expanded creativity and originality, which is increasingly valued in today’s society.” I remember learning in an Art class at college that Leonardo DaVinci always liked to have a window set with violet glass in his studio. He thought it encouraged creativity. It’s a very pretty color, vibrant and romantic at the same time, feminine yet even men can wear it. My husband looks wonderful in this shade, especially the muted or softer versions. He is a Soft Summer. My Toned Autumn (or Soft Autumn Deep) complexion looks anemic in this color and yet I still love it. I just won’t be wearing it voluntarily anywhere near my face. Go to prettyyourworld.com for more info about finding your color season.

Pantone Color 2014

I am sure Radiant Orchid will be THE color for bridesmaids dresses this year. I myself once wore an Orchid colored bridesmaid dress in the early ’90s. What saved me from looking wan was the ivory satin bolero we wore over the strapless dresses. I like the vibrant version of this color in these bridesmaid dress:

Orchid bridesmaids

Orchid dress I will probably just indulge in this color in footwear.
Orchid shoes

orchid tennies

Or a Radiant Orchid Purse.orchid purseOr maybe I’ll just stick to enjoying this color in floral arrangements.

bouquet

