The Holiday Christmas season always brings out my inner elf. I have a brand new baby nephew and I’m so excited to be able to make baby gifts again. My family has gone a few years without any small children about, just older (sullen, morose) teens and adults, so my little nephew is a very welcome addition. I love the old vintage craft patterns. There’s something timeless about them, like these stuffed toys from Advance circa 1940s:

xmas crafts 1

And how about these funny elf dolls:Mccalls 7099My grandmother made me a Raggedy Ann & Raggedy Andy pair when I was in kindergarten. I loved those dolls. I don’t know if the instruction sheet said to, but she used a kind of fabric paint to draw hearts on their chests.

xmas crafts 2This penguin family is adorable and the Santa faces crack me up!

McCall's 2181

McCall’s 2181

Or if you like knitting, here’s a Gnome and Santa doll:

bestway929aIf you need a very vintage looking 1940s Santa Suit, I’ve seen this pattern offered on Etsy by a couple of vendors:

xmas craft 4Then how about a set of matching aprons for the whole family:

Mccalls 2264Felt seems to have been the fabric of choice for Christmas Stockings:

xmas craft 5

Mccalls 1830

And if you aren’t busy enough during the holidays, why not whip up some home decor…

xmas craft 6A 1959’s version of “going green” – felt tote bags:

Mccalls 2344Or just make slippers for everyone on your list:

xmas craft 7

xmas craft 8And then after you’re all done with the sewing and knitting, you can venture into the workshop and get familiar with the woodworking tools knocking out this project:

xmas crafts 9

Then if you haven’t collapsed by Christmas, you can get in the kitchen and bake the perfect Christmas Dinner.

woman-chicken-150211

J-Happy-Holidays

