Tags

, ,

I finished sewing this rockin’ shirt for my painting instructor, David Settino Scott. I made it to thank him for letting me invade his studio once a week for the past 5 years. The fabric is Alexander Henry’s “Las Senoritas” (2005), a heavier cotton that I got from www.mexicansugarskull.com.

SenoritaFabric

This gorgeous fabric is bright and colorful with these beautiful retro-style Senoritas that remind me of vintage Mexican calendar girls. I love the red, orange and pink cabbage roses that give it that vintagey vibe and the touches of blue that keep the over-all color scheme from getting too “hot”.

David's calendar girl shirt 02 smI used McCall’s 6044 with just a couple of adjustments. David’s neck is a size small, and yet the rest of him is a size medium. So I cut just the neck areas and the collar/collar stand in the small size. It made it a bit tricky for the armscye because he likes an oversized, roomy fit, and cutting the neck area smaller meant a smaller armhole. So to accommodate a medium sleeve, I lowered the bottom of the armscye the amount taken out at the shoulder seams for the small neck.

Also, since David is of a vintage age himself, I made the side seams straight instead of the more fitted, curved-in side seams in the pattern. The pattern seems to be a fitted shirt for younger men and for those who have retained their boyish figures. Men with love handles may need more room in the waist area. David also requested a straight hem instead of the shirt tail hem so he could wear it untucked.

David's calendar girl shirt 03 smThe pattern repeat in this fabric is about 23″. Thank goodness I thought to get extra yardage so I could match up the fronts. Here is my attempt at matching the button placket and the pockets.

David's calendar girl shirt 01 smFor a little bit of rockabilly flair, I lined the cuffs, yoke and collar stand with this calico fabric.

Inside collar sm

Cuff detail:Cuff closeup smOverall he is very happy with his new “party shirt”. And now my husband wants one too.

McCalls 6044

M6044

