I’ve been participating in the Summer Street Dress sew-along on PatternReview.com. The Summer Street Dress is a nice little pullover knit dress with only 3 major pieces (that is for the view without the center panels) and it whips up in no time.

BluePolkadotDress

The pattern is a download type by Maria Denmark.

summerstreet

I am not very good with knits, so I usually avoid patterns that use them, but I decided that it was time to get over it. My knit was a very slippery lycra so I found using patterns weights helped to control it on the cutting table.Street dress sewalong 1I made my own pattern weights. I used flat fishing weights from my local bait and tackle shop and dipped them in a plastic coating from the hardware store that is used to coat the handles of tools.

Street dress sewalong 2The only thing I would do differently the next time I make this dress is to make sure the  tops of the sleeve caps hug my shoulders more snugly. They did in the test fitting:BlueDotsTestFitBut something happened when I hemmed the arm openings and now I have little wings. I think curving down the shoulder seam more would prevent it from happening next time.

BlueDotDressSleeveCapI also changed the waist gathers into pleats, 4 in front, 4 in back to streamline the dress a bit more. Being short-waisted, gathers can often make me look dumpy-stumpy. Otherwise I think this is a cute, easy-to-throw-on dress just right for the hot weather.

