Tags

,

1959 Junior Prom at Yuba City High School (my mother is on the left)

1959 Junior Prom at Yuba City High School (my mother is first on the left)

One of my fondest childhood memories is of my mother’s prom dress. It was this frothy, chiffon confection with a velvet sash and collar in tones of a very 1950s cross between blue and deep turquoise that I have never again seen in fabric to this day. It was a color that set off my mother’s olive complexion perfectly. I believe she said they wore starched petticoats underneath their dresses. Starched!!! Later, after I came along, my mother let me and my girlfriends play dress up with it and pretend we were princesses. We did for years until it fell apart. How I wish now she had boxed it up and put it away for posterity! I would love to pull it out now and play a grown-up version of dress-up!

Here’s a vintage pattern that echoes the same styling of my mother’s dress:

McCalls 347

McCalls 3477

