Sharon’s Antiques is a nifty little website that specializes in fabrics from the 19th century to the 1950s, including feedsacks. These are not reproduction fabrics, but actual antique and vintage fabrics. I especially love the rayons page. I have several lengths I have bought from this site and I find that the rayons manufactured in the 1940s-1950s have a heavier feel and weight and therefore have more drape than what is made today. They also carry vintage tea towels, tablecloths, quilts, and vintage aprons. They even have vintage all-cotton rickrack, bias tape and trims. I enjoy going through the fabrics to see what was actually used in the early last century. Some of the prints look quite contemporary, or is it that manufacturers today are looking to the past for fabric design?

These are cotton fabrics printed with fruit motifs from the 1940s and 1950s. As is often the case with fabrics from that time, the fabric is only 36″ (91cm) wide.Fruit Prints

My favorites are the rayons from the 1950s and earlier.Rayons

These feedsacks are what the thrifty farm wife used to make pillowcases, curtains, tablecloths, dishtowels and more.

Feedsacks

The Novelty prints are kind of kitschy and cute. I can see using these to make kitchen accessories for a retro look.

Novelty Prints

Some pretty cottons from the 1930s.
Cottons 1930s

Actual Vintage aprons.

Aprons 1

