Tags

,

So did Punxsutawney Phil see his shadow this morning? No! So the end to winter’s bitter cold will come soon, according to Pennsylvania’s famous groundhog. But remember, over the years, this weather prognosticating woodchuck has only had a 39% accuracy rate. So I wouldn’t store those winter coats just yet.

Punxsutawney Phil, the most famous of all the weather predicting Marmots.

Punxsutawney Phil, the most famous of all the weather predicting Marmots.

Well mama’s got a brand new bag. I’ve been keeping on track with my aim to do at least two sewing projects per month. Granted, January’s projects were mostly mending and repairs like ripped seams, lost buttons, hemming store-bought trousers, hemming sheer draperies, you know, all those annoying small jobs you put off in a pile that you’ll get to “sometime”. I also made a “market tote” to carry my art supplies to the Life Drawing sessions my local artist’s group sets up twice a month. Yep, that’s right, drawing nekkid people.

Muertos tote 1

The groundhogs approve.

I used a simple hand drawn pattern by a local lady who teaches sewing at my local independent fabric shop. I really like the Dia de los Muertos theme of the cotton fabric (an Alexander Henry print called Estrella de los Muertos). I used very heavy duty iron-on interfacing because I wanted the tote to stand up on its own. This isn’t a tote that is meant to fold up small for shopping. If I were going to make it for stashing in the car for grocery shopping, I would probably use soft knit interfacing or maybe none at all. It’s really hard to see but I did put in a couple of interior pockets.

The lining.

The lining.

Muertos tote 3And it will hold my 11″x14″ sketch pad and a pair of groundhogs. Cool.

