Tags

, , ,

Emerald 2013

Annually Pantone, the world-renowned authority on color and provider of color systems,  declares a particular color “Color of the Year”. Twice a year the company hosts in a  meeting in Europe of representatives from various nations’ color standards groups. After two days of presentations and debate, they choose a color for the following year; for example, the color for summer 2013 was chosen in London in the spring of 2012. The results of the meeting are published in Pantone View which fashion designers, florists, and many other retailers and manufacturers purchase to help guide their designs and planning for future products. Which means Emerald was chosen over a year ago. This gives time for textile mills, producers of pigments and the like to lay in a supply of this color. Too bad I look ill in this particular shade of green.

Pantone 2013 Spring Palette for Women

Pantone colors for women 2013 spring

There are other color forecasting service companies such as The Color Association of the United StatesThe Color Box, and Color Portfolio, to name a few. These “color intelligence” services offer color consultation for a fee (sometimes a hefty one) but I can see that this would be a good thing to do if you are a manufacturer of clothing, interior design products, make up, or a retailer. They don’t want to invest big money in products in which the color is so-10-years-ago and could potentially be a costly mistake.  I’ve taken a whole semester class on just color at my local college (art related) and it was just a mere dip of the toe in the color waters.

Color can have such impact on our emotions. I know when I want to feel energized, I wear red (an orangey one) or purple (a clear bluish one). A woman at my gym refuses to wear red (even though she would rock in it) because she doesn’t like to be noticed. For those of you who remember “Color Me Beautiful“, I had my colors “done” in the late 1980’s and discovered that I was an Autumn. It explained why I looked horrible in Maroon and Dusky Plum, why I was always complimented when I wore Soft Aqua, and why you’ll NEVER catch me wear bright white. I don’t even own white underwear. In the decades since the Color Me Beautiful concept was launched, the color seasons have been refined even more and I now find I straddle the “Warm” & “Soft” Autumn palettes. Lora Alexander’s Pretty Your World is a great website to learn about how wearing your best colors can really help you look awesome. You can take her Free Quiz to help you find your season.

So sometimes the most popular colors of a given season offer very few choices for me and that’s one of the main reasons I sew. I may skip the Emerald this year, but I can look great in Grayed Jade.

grayedjade

