Fireworks Composite

Happy New Year! Ah, yes, and the making of New Year’s resolutions. I see around the blog-hood many other sewists making their “Sewing Resolutions”. I’m not good at keeping New Year’s Resolutions, such as, “I will finally lose that last annoying 12lbs.” I think this year I’ll just call them, “Really good ideas that you ought to do.” So here are my Sewing Really Good Ideas:

1. I will use up fabric from my stash, or, at the very least, seriously consider what I already have in my stash before I go out and buy even more fabric.

Fabric stash2. I will aim to complete 2 sewing projects per month. I think this is reasonable  considering my schedule and all the other things that demand my time and attention.

3. I will sew more sun dresses. I recently moved  about 15 miles inland from the very foggy Pacific coast, but it’s a whole different climate. The summers on the coast were constantly foggy and around 72 degrees Fahrenheit and as a consequence, I have a closet full of light weight sweaters I wore year-round.  Where I am now, the summers will be hot, sunny, and mostly 100 degree days. I’ll actually need a summer wardrobe.

4. I will sew up those accessories projects – purses, eyeglass cases, totes, etc… that I have already bought the fabric and hardware for and are just sitting in a box waiting for me to get to them. I have a couple of adorable purse kits from Nicole Mallalieu Design that I really must make soon!

Poppet purse PFPOPP

5. I will clean and do maintenance on my sewing/serger machines.

I think this is a reasonable list that I can actually manage to do this year. I don’t know where I read this, but I love this saying:

“Although you can’t go back and make a brand new start, you can start now and make a brand new ending.”

Ciao!

