Tags

, , ,

There’s nothing like trying to sew a dress at the 11th hour. Plus I’m adding to the difficulty because we just moved and most of our things are still in boxes. So I had to quickly set up a functional sewing space yesterday and dig around not very well marked boxes for my sewing supplies. Today I am sewing my Halloween Costume for a party tomorrow night – Ginger’s SS Minnow dress from Gilligan’s Island. My husband is going as The Skipper. At least his costume is super simple, a blue polo shirt, pale Docker trousers, deck shoes and a skipper hat. I cut my dress out last night from heavy muslin, stitched all the darts and fused the interfacing pieces to give me a head start this morning. I used muslin because it looks like Ginger (or more probably Maryann) used, or as we say today, “repurposed”, the boat’s sail to make her dress. Woohoo! Wish me luck.

Here’s the inspiration photo:

I’m using Vogue 8555, view B. It’s not an exact replica, but I have used the pattern before and all the fitting adjustments are already done, so I know it will work. This pattern is very flattering for curvy gals. I wear a C-cup bra and most of the major pattern companies draft for a B-cup, but this pattern required no full-bust adjustment to fit right which is unusual for me.

